Four-team playoff to officially replace BCS in 2014


Beginning with the 2014 regular season a four-team playoff will decide college football’s national champion, with participants chosen by a selection committee after the final week of play.

After months of hovering and circling, the 12 BCS commissioners and 12 university presidents of the presidential oversight committee have officially stamped the BCS with an expiration date — Jan. 8, 2014.

That’s the day after the final BCS National Championship Game, which, ironically, will be held in the Rose Bowl — the site of the bowl that has proven a major sticking point in the long history of playoff proposals and debate in college football.

In the BCS’s place, the commissioners and presidents have completed work on a four-team playoff system that will take place over a little more than a week.

The two semifinal games will be held at two of six first-tier bowls each year.

A non-traditional host will stage the national championship game, much like the BCS National Title game had no “bowl” affiliation. This title game, however, will be bided out year-to-year, as the Super Bowl is. The first national title game as a result of a playoff will be played on Jan. 12, 2015. Moving forward, title games will be played on the first Monday of the new year that is at least six days after New Year’s Day.

A selection committee will select the four teams. Their mission statement is to pick teams based on win-loss record, strength of schedule, head-to-head record and consider whether the team won its conference.

The agreement extends 12 years, to 2025.

There are some questions left unanswered. Most notably, we do not have any clue as to who would serve on the selection committee, and further have no indication of the procedure of this committee. The six semifinal rotational bowls have not yet been selected, but many believe they will include some or all of the following: Rose, Fiesta, Orange, Sugar, Cotton, Champions.

Money also remains an issue at large.

Champions will be determined by the Bowl Championship Series in both 2012 and 2013.



Comments are closed.