New Rose Bowl Selection Process Explained


A new provision of the BCS bowl selection process will be enacted during the 2010-11 season, providing the annual Rose Bowl, held in Pasadena, California, an opportunity to break from tradition and host a non-BCS conference member for the New Years Day bowl.

Starting with the 2011 Rose Bowl and extending until the 2014 edition of the granddaddy of them all, the first time the Rose Bowl loses one of its traditional hosts (Big Ten or Pac-10 Champion) to the BCS National Championship Game, and a non-BCS team automatically qualifies for the BCS, that non-BCS team will be selected by the Rose Bowl.

As a reminder, these are the ways in which a non-BCS conference member can automatically receive a BCS bowl bid:

  • Be a member of the five non-BCS conferences, win at least nine games and either:
    • Be ranked in the top-12 in the final BCS standings.
    • Be ranked in the top-16 in the final BCS standings, and rank ahead of at least one of the six BCS conference champions.

As in past years, only one non-BCS conference school can automatically qualify for a BCS bid. If more than one team does meet the criteria, it will be considered for an at-large bid by the BCS bowls.

If neither the Big Ten nor Pac-10 champions are selected for the BCS National Championship Game, the Rose Bowl will continue to honor its contract with the two conferences and host the two teams for its traditional pairing.

In the case that a non-AQ school is selected to play in the BCS National Championship Game, the Rose Bowl will not be held to fulfilling this provision as that school would be the “automatically qualifying non-AQ school.” However, the Rose Bowl could still decide to take a non-AQ team, which would clear the bowl of its responsibility for the four year period.

The provision is only temporary for 2011 to 2014, and will only apply once. Once the provision is met the first time, it will no longer apply.



7 Comm

  1. [...] a few days after posting a projected slate of BCS bowls, a new provision in the BCS has thrown a real wrench into what BCS Know How projected for the 2011 BCS [...]

  2. [...] BCS Know How | New Rose Bowl Selection Process Explained [...]

  3. [...] BCS Know How | New Rose Bowl Selection Process Explained [...]

  4. ESPN Bowl Projections

    [...] Posted by Jud Owns Digger Does that rule apply if a non-AQ makes the NC game? Here is the new Rose Bowl selection procedure for 2011-14. Only one non-BCS team can be an AQ for a BCS bowl. [...]

  5. Bowl projections!

    [...] be good enough for the BCS more than likely, but it doesn't have to be Boise State or TCU. No New Rose Bowl Selection Process Explained | BCS Know How 2009 Football Pick'em Champion 5th overall 2010 Pick'em Scoring 1 WST 2010 Pick'em MEMBER OF [...]

  6. William Heath

    The Arkansas Razorbacks would definitely be a
    good Rose Bowl team for January 1, 2011 New Years
    Day game.

  7. [...] Quote: islstl said.... Stanford is almost a shoe in for Pasadena, unless they end up with 3 losses. Heck even a 2 loss Arizona would get in. That's how much the PAC-10 has a hard on for selecting PAC-10 vs Big 10. Actually, it is unlikely that Stanford goes to the Rose Bowl. There is a new rule in place this year that forces the Rose Bowl to take a non-BCS automatic qualifier, if the RB loses the Big Ten of Pac 10 champ to the BCSCG. If Oregon goes to the BCSCG, and plays someone other than TCU or Boise, TCU or Boise (whoever is ranked higher) goes to the Rose Bowl. However, if TCU or Boise goes to the BCSCG, the RB would be free to choose whomever they wanted (unless they get the Big Ten and Pac 10 champs), b/c there can only be one non-BCS automatic qualifier. This is a four year commitment by the Rose Bowl, but it goes away after the first time it plays out. New Rose Bowl Selection Process Explained | BCS Know How [...]